Biomedical Sciences Corps in action

OSAN AIR BASE, Republic of Korea -- The Biomedical Sciences Corps is a diverse medical corps with 17 different Air Force Specialty Codes leading and supporting the medical service corps mission.

Biomedical Sciences date back to World War I with the formation of the Army Sanitary Corps May 18, 1917. The Army Sanitary Corps was a mixture of scientific and health related fields and was established to fight infectious diseases.

Several scientific specialties in different corps received many changes, including pharmacy to dietetics and industrial hygiene to entomology during the next 30 years. These changes led to the making of the Army Medical Service Corps in 1947 that accommodated both the Army and the newly created Air Force.

The Air Force Medical Service Corps was first created July 1, 1949, with six main corps that is comprised of the Medical Corps, Dental Corps, Nurse Corps, Veterinary Corps, Medical Service Corps and Women's Medical Specialist Corps. On Jan. 28, 1965, Col. Alvin F. Meyer, Jr. had a vision to have a scientific and engineering corps and thus formed the Biomedical Sciences Corps.

The formal establishment of the BSC was on March 15, 1965, where Meyer was appointed as the first BSC Corps chief. The Medical Service Corps and the Medical Specialist Corps went through a transformation that combined all the scientific and technical members.

The BSC will be celebrating their 50th anniversary in the upcoming year.