HomeNewsArticle Display

Airman Spotlight: Senior Airman Gerardo A. Chirichigno

Senior Airman Gerardo A. Chirichigno, 51st Maintenance Squadron

Senior Airman Gerardo A. Chirichigno, 51st Maintenance Squadron

OSAN AIR BASE, Republic of Korea -- Unit: 51st Maintenance Squadron

Job title: Precision Measurement Equipment Laboratory journeyman

Job description and its impact on the overall mission: To provide test measurement and diagnostic equipment support to the U.S. Forces Korea and Pacific Air Forces mission.

Time in the military: Three years, seven months

Time at Osan: One year, five months

DEROS: August 2011

Family: Considering I don't have a family of my own, my family continues to be my father Luis - a retired U.S. Army captain, mother Maria, and sister Maritza - who was formerly an Air Force security forces team member.

Hometown: A firm answer to this question has forever eluded me. Being a foreign service officer for the U.S. State Department, my father's career had me continuously moving from location to location around the globe. Although I was born in Colombia, I don't consider it a hometown - in essence one could say I'm simultaneously from everywhere and nowhere. However, my current home of record is Naples, Fla.

Hobbies: I'm an avid reader and a sports, recreation and outdoor enthusiast. Favorite book genres include, but are not limited to, fiction, non-fiction, biographical, historical and scientific. Being a fan of all four seasons and the sea and air, finding something interesting to do is limited only by the resources available to me at the time.

Why did you join the military? My father being former U.S. Army, naturally I was exposed from an early age to the notion of what it means and what it takes to be a successful member of the U.S. military. Aside from my father's influence, I had birthed and nurtured my own stance on the military. From an early stage in my life I decided I would very much like to be a part of and serve with distinction in our nation's armed services. The military not only has given me a chance to be adventurous, it has been generous enough to allow me into its ranks and become a productive member of our nation.

Where do you see yourself in 10 or 20 years? Currently I am enrolled in a Master of Science in International Relations program and would very much like to put that knowledge to use by joining the U.S. State Department as a Foreign Service officer. I would feel a great sense of achievement if I could help further U.S. interests outside of our uniform while having a chance to be a part of implementing strategic relations with developing nations. We live in interesting times and I would hate to pass up on a position on the front lines.

What do you do for fun here? Despite Korea's small geographic size it has a lot to offer. Taking advantage of the tours offered here is a great thing if only to give one ideas about where to go and what to see.

What's your favorite Air Force memory or story? My favorite memories stem from basic training. Events unfold so quickly and the fact that people come from such diverse backgrounds, it's a breeding ground for hilarity in the interactions between training instructors and trainees.

What accomplishments are you most proud of? I am most proud of having the ability to take my situation in perspective and be able to perform at a high level day in and day out.

Who is your role model? My father is definitely my role model. Everything I have and everything that I am I owe to him.